Annual Conference 11-16 October, 2014

???????????????????????????????We are pleased to announce that the 2014 ICOM NATHIST conference will be held from 11-16 October in Croatia, from kindly hosted by the Croatian Museums of Zagorje.

The theme of the conference is The future of natural history museums:
relevance, balance and innovation
, which gives plenty of scope for philosophical debate, innovation and reflection.

Our hosts: The Croatian Museums of Zagorje combines five museums in the area of Krapina-Zagorje county with headquarters in Upper Stubica. These museums include the Museum of the Krapina Neanderthal, pictured above.

We will very shortly be calling for papers and providing registration details. You can receive up-to-the-minute information by subscribing to our e-Newsletter.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Dear Dr. Dorfman,

    My name is Myandas Jambaldorj and I have been

    working at the the Natural History Museum of Mongolia

    as the Deputy Director and Marketing Manager for

    last 12 years.

    I became a member of ICOM 2 years ago and joined

    International Commission for Museums and Collection

    of Natural History this year.

    Natural History Museum of Mongolia is going to expand

    as the National Nature and Science Museum in the next

    few years. We are going to build a new building and planning

    a completely new scientific and natural exhibitions for our new

    building.I am planning to participate in the 2014 Annual

    conference in Croatia, which I consider to be highly important

    to our museum’s planning and future development. I have

    visited the Commission’s website, but I could not find any

    information regarding the registration of the Conference.

    I would greatly appreciate if you kindly provide me some

    information or contact info of an official with whom I could

    contact for further reference.

    I am also wondering if I can be accompanied by a translator

    and a volunteer of our museum who are not ICOM members.

    If you let me know if conference is open to non ICOM members,

    I would appreciate very much.

    Thank you very much for your help in advance.

    I look forward to your reply.

    Myandas Jambaldorj

    General Manager

    Mongolian Natural History Museum

    1. Dear colleagues,

      I’m looking for the same information.

      Regards

      Nicolas Kramar

      Musée de la nature
      Sion, Switzerland

      1. Eric Dorfman says:

        Dear Nicolas, thanks for your query. We have been working with our colleagues in Croatia to finalise details. We’ll post an update as soon as possible. Many thanks for your patience. – Eric

Leave a Reply

